#DoNowMalala

Not only as a girl, but as a human being, I believe that everyone has the right to go to school. As said in the article, girls that go to school can make a higher income. These girls can have a bettermalala life with an education. I feel bad for Malala, who is just trying to go to school. Boy or girl I think we should all agree that there needs to be equality for all no matter your race, sex, sexual preference, religion, or age. Treat everyone the way you would like to be treated. Going to school is an important part of life and I don’t know what I would do if someone took that away from me. I feel like I would feel lost in the world. I can’t imagine how these girls feel.

Malala was just trying to go to school when she was shot by a Taliban gunman. And this isn’t the first. Thousands of girls worldwide are not only discouraged from going to school, but are attacked when they try to go to school. Girls are expected to stay at home and be housewives and take care of the kids. People are afraid girls can become too smart, so people try to keep them illiterate.

The discrimination isn’t only in third world countries. It is happening right here in the U.S. Women are getting paid less just because they are women. If you haven’t seen the movie “Miss Representation” then I highly encourage you to see it. I saw this movie during school because I go to an all girl school. However, I encourage boys and girls to watch the movie. It shows of all the discrimination against women in the world, from the media to the workplace. It shows perspectives from not only women, but men. There are perspectives from adults and teens. There are perspectives from politicians, comedians, and ordinary people.

This article is sad because it is tough to see all the things these girls have to go through to get something as simple as an education. And this is something we, in America, expect. If you want to read the article, the link is http://blogs.kqed.org/education/2013/10/18/is-there-a-gender-gap-in-education/

I hope you learned something about the difficulty women and girls face in trying to gain equality. Remember KEEP CALM AND LEARN ON.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #DoNowMalala

  1. This is a nice post, Carly. I would have loved to hear more specifics about your experience watching Miss Representation. You could also include a link to share more information about that movie. That is a great connection to make with this issue.

Leave a Reply

